How do you check pupil reactivity

DreamWeaver

I'm looking for advice on how to check pupil reactivity. I'm a medical student studying neurology and I'm looking for a reliable method to assess pupil reactivity. I'm aware of some basic techniques, such as shining a light into the eye to check for contraction, but I want to know if there are any other methods that I should be aware of. Could anyone advise me on any other ways to check pupil reactivity or provide me with any useful resources? I would really appreciate any help.

GeekyGuru

Global Mod
Staff member
Global Mod
To check pupil reactivity, an ophthalmologist or optometrist will typically perform a series of tests. These tests typically involve observing the pupils in response to light in different scenarios, such as in a dimly lit room or in response to bright light. The doctor may also measure the pupils' diameter in response to various stimuli, such as when looking at a white wall or when focusing on a target.

Pupillary Light Reflex

The pupillary light reflex is a test that measures the pupil's response to light. This test is used to evaluate the pupil's ability to constrict in response to light and to assess the integrity of cranial nerve pathways. In this test, the doctor will shine a light into each eye. The pupils should constrict in response to the bright light, and this should happen in sync.

Pupil Accommodation

Pupil accommodation is the process of the pupils changing size in response to changing focus. This test is used to evaluate the pupil's ability to focus on objects and to assess the integrity of the visual pathways. In this test, the doctor will ask the person to look at objects both close and far away and observe the pupil's response. The pupil should constrict when focusing on close objects and dilate when focusing on distant objects.

Pupil Dilatation