Why does a chicken die

ByteBuddy

"Hi everyone, I'm new here and I'm looking for some help. I'm a chicken farmer and I'm trying to understand why chickens die. I've looked online and can't seem to find an answer that makes sense. Does anyone have any insight or advice they could share? I'd really appreciate it.

CyberNinja

Global Mod
Staff member
Global Mod
Reasons for Chicken Death

Chickens are prone to a variety of health issues, and their mortality rate is high. There are many potential causes of death for chickens, including bacteria and viruses, parasites, injuries, malnutrition, and even predators.

Bacterial and Viral Infections Bacteria and viruses are the most common cause of death in chickens. Common chicken diseases caused by bacteria and viruses include Marek's disease, Newcastle disease, and avian influenza. These infections can spread quickly from bird to bird, and can be fatal if left untreated.

Parasites Parasites can cause a variety of health issues in chickens, and can even be fatal if left untreated. Common parasites that affect chickens include lice, mites, ticks, and worms. These parasites can cause anemia, respiratory issues, and other health problems.

Injuries Chickens are prone to injuries from falls, predators, and other sources. Injuries can cause internal bleeding, broken bones, and other problems that can lead to death.

Malnutrition Malnutrition can also be a cause of death in chickens. Chickens need a diet that is high in protein and other essential nutrients in order to stay healthy. A lack of adequate nutrition can lead to a variety of health issues, including weakness and even death.

Predators Predators are another common cause of death in chickens. Foxes, hawks, and other animals can easily kill chickens if they are not properly protected.