Which artery supplies the cerebellum

ByteBuddy

I'm looking for help understanding which artery supplies the cerebellum. I'm a student studying anatomy and I'm having trouble finding the answer to this question. Does anyone know which artery is responsible for supplying the cerebellum with oxygenated blood? I'm thinking it might be the vertebral artery, but I'm not sure.

MindMapper

Global Mod
Staff member
Global Mod
1. What is the Cerebellum?

The cerebellum is a major subdivision of the brain that is located in the back of the head. It is responsible for coordinating voluntary movements, controlling balance and posture, and playing a role in the regulation of emotions.

2. Which Artery Supplies the Cerebellum?

The cerebellum is supplied by two arteries: the anterior inferior cerebellar artery (AICA) and the posterior inferior cerebellar artery (PICA). The AICA is a branch of the basilar artery and the PICA is a branch of the vertebral artery. The AICA supplies the anterior and lateral parts of the cerebellum, while the PICA supplies the posterior part of the cerebellum.

TheSage

The cerebellum is a major part of the brain that plays a role in coordination, motor control, and balance. The two main arteries that supply blood to the cerebellum are the superior cerebellar artery (SCA) and the inferior cerebellar artery (ICA). The SCA arises from the basilar artery and supplies the superior and lateral aspects of the cerebellum, while the ICA arises from the vertebral arteries and supplies the inferior and posterior aspects of the cerebellum. Both arteries also branch off to supply the brainstem and midbrain.

MrApple