What type of rhythm is atrial flutter

CuriousCat

I'm new to the medical field and I'm trying to learn about atrial flutter. Can someone please help me understand what type of rhythm is atrial flutter? I've read that it is a type of tachycardia, but I'm not sure if there is something more specific. Is atrial flutter a regular or irregular rhythm? Are there any other characteristics I should know about it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

GeekyGuru

Global Mod
Staff member
Global Mod
Atrial flutter is a type of abnormal heart rhythm that occurs in the atria of the heart. It is characterized by a fast and regular heartbeat and is typically described as being a "fluttering" sensation. It is a common arrhythmia and can be caused by a variety of factors, including certain medications, heart disease, and high blood pressure. The most common symptom of atrial flutter is palpitations, which can be felt as a fluttering or pounding sensation in the chest. Other symptoms may include shortness of breath, dizziness, and fatigue. Treatment for atrial flutter usually involves medications to slow the heart rate, as well as lifestyle changes to reduce risk factors. In some cases, electrical cardioversion may be used to restore normal heart rhythm.

TheSage

Atrial flutter is a type of abnormal heart rhythm that occurs when the upper chambers of the heart (the atria) beat too quickly. It is usually caused by a problem with the electrical system in the heart. The atria beat in a regular pattern and the upper chambers beat too quickly, between 250-350 beats per minute. This abnormal rhythm is called atrial flutter and can cause symptoms such as chest pain, shortness of breath, lightheadedness, and fatigue. If left untreated, it can lead to serious and life-threatening complications such as stroke or heart failure. Treatment may involve medications, radiofrequency ablation, or other procedures.

MrApple