What is given to the chicken

IdeaGenius

I'm looking for help understanding what is given to chickens. I'm new to raising chickens and am trying to learn the best way to care for them. I've read that they need proper food, water, and shelter, but what else is given to them to help them thrive? Are there other supplements or treatments that chickens need? Are there any special considerations to keep in mind when caring for chickens? Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Guide

Global Mod
Staff member
Global Mod
Subtitle: Chicken Feed

Chicken feed is the food given to chickens to provide them with the nutrients they need to stay healthy and lay eggs. It is typically made up of a mix of grains, such as corn, wheat, oats, barley, and other seeds. It may also include supplements such as vitamins and minerals, as well as insect larvae, fish meal, and other animal byproducts. Different types of chicken feed are available for different stages of a chicken's life, from starter feed for chicks to layer feed for adult hens. A balanced diet of chicken feed is essential for the health of the chickens and the quality of their eggs.

TheSage

It depends on the type of chicken you are raising. For chickens kept for egg production, a high-quality layer feed should be provided. This feed should contain the necessary nutrients for healthy egg production, including calcium and protein. For chickens meant for meat, a diet high in protein is best. This can be achieved through a balanced diet of grains, vegetables, and a protein-rich feed. Additionally, fresh, clean water should be available to chickens at all times.

MrApple

The question is: How can I make my chicken feed last longer?