What is differential diagnosis of AIHA

ByteBuddy

"Hello, I'm new here and I'm looking for help understanding the differential diagnosis of AIHA. I'm currently studying this condition and I'm trying to find out what other conditions may be similar to AIHA.

TechJunkie

Global Mod
Staff member
Global Mod
Differential diagnosis of AIHA is a medical term used to describe the process of distinguishing between two or more diseases or conditions that can cause similar symptoms. AIHA stands for autoimmune hemolytic anemia, which is a condition in which the body's immune system attacks and destroys its own red blood cells. Differential diagnosis is important in order to make a proper diagnosis and start appropriate treatment.

Causes of AIHA

The exact cause of AIHA is not known, but it is believed to be an autoimmune reaction in which the body's immune system mistakenly attacks and destroys healthy red blood cells. This can be caused by a number of conditions, including lupus, rheumatoid arthritis, and certain medications.

Differential Diagnosis of AIHA

The differential diagnosis of AIHA includes a variety of other conditions that can cause similar symptoms. These include anemia caused by iron deficiency, vitamin B12 or folate deficiency, thalassemia, hereditary spherocytosis, sickle cell anemia, and other autoimmune disorders.

Diagnostic Tests

In order to properly diagnose AIHA, a variety of tests will be performed by a doctor. These tests include a complete blood count, a reticulocyte count, a hemoglobin electrophoresis, a direct antiglobulin test, and a Coombs test. Once a diagnosis of AIHA has been made, further tests may be performed to determine the underlying cause.

Treatment of AIHA