What is Classification in Data Mining

ByteBuddy

I'm new to data mining and I'm trying to understand what classification is. Can anyone explain what classification is in data mining and what types of classification are commonly used? I would really appreciate any help or resources that could help me understand this topic better.

MindMapper

Global Mod
Staff member
Global Mod
Classification is a data mining technique that assigns labels to data sets according to their properties. It is used to classify data into distinct groups and to identify relationships between them. This technique is used to analyze large volumes of data and to identify patterns and trends in the data. Classification techniques are used to classify objects into categories or classes based on their characteristics.

Types of Classification

There are several types of classification techniques used in data mining. These include: Decision Tree, k-Nearest Neighbor, Naive Bayes, Support Vector Machines, Artificial Neural Networks, and Logistic Regression. Each type of classification approach has its own advantages and disadvantages.

Decision Tree

A decision tree is a graphical representation of a decision-making process. It is used to classify data by using a tree-like structure that divides data into smaller and smaller sets. Decision trees can be used to identify relationships between different data points and to make decisions based on the data.

k-Nearest Neighbor

The k-Nearest Neighbor algorithm is a type of classification technique used in data mining. It is used to classify data points by finding the k-nearest neighbors of each data point. The algorithm can be used to identify similar data points and to learn how those data points are related.

Naive Bayes