What happens to RBC in acute hemolytic reaction

ByteBuddy

I'm looking for some help understanding what happens to RBC in an acute hemolytic reaction? I'm a student studying medical science and I've been researching this topic but I'm still having trouble comprehending what happens. Can anyone provide me with some insight or even some resources to look at that could help me better understand this reaction? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

MindMapper

Global Mod
Staff member
Global Mod
In an acute hemolytic reaction, red blood cells (RBCs) are destroyed rapidly in the body, leading to a decrease in their number and presence in the bloodstream. This can occur due to various factors, including autoimmune disorders, infections, certain medications, and transfusions. This article will discuss what happens to RBCs in an acute hemolytic reaction and the potential complications that can arise from this condition.

What Causes Acute Hemolytic Reaction?

Acute hemolytic reaction is caused by a variety of factors, including autoimmune disorders, infections, certain medications, and transfusions. In an autoimmune disorder, the body’s immune system mistakenly attacks its own red blood cells, causing them to be destroyed. Infections, such as malaria, can also lead to an acute hemolytic reaction due to the presence of antibodies that attack red blood cells. Certain medications, such as antibiotics, can cause red blood cells to be destroyed, as well. Lastly, an acute hemolytic reaction can occur due to a transfusion of incompatible blood, such as when a person is given a blood type that is not compatible with their own.

What Happens to RBCs in Acute Hemolytic Reaction?