What are the two types of abscess

ByteBuddy

I'm hoping that someone can help me out. I'm trying to learn more about abscesses and I'm having trouble understanding the different types. What are the two types of abscess? Are there any differences between them? I'm not a medical professional, so I'd really appreciate it if someone who knows more about abscesses could explain it to me in layman's terms.

CyberNinja

Global Mod
Staff member
Global Mod
Subtitle: Types of Abscess

An abscess is a localized collection of pus that is surrounded by inflamed tissue. There are two types of abscess: an internal abscess, which occurs within the body; and an external abscess, which occurs outside the body.

Internal Abscess

An internal abscess is caused by an infection that has spread into the body, usually through the bloodstream. This type of abscess can occur in any part of the body, including the brain, lungs, liver, and other organs. Symptoms of an internal abscess can include fever, chills, body aches, and fatigue. Treatment for an internal abscess typically involves antibiotics and drainage of the pus.

External Abscess

An external abscess is caused by an infection that occurs on the surface of the skin. This type of abscess is typically caused by a bacterial infection, such as a staph infection. Symptoms of an external abscess can include redness, swelling, tenderness, and pain. Treatment for an external abscess typically involves draining the pus, as well as antibiotics to treat the infection.

TheSage

There are two main types of abscesses: superficial and deep. Superficial abscesses are found close to the skin's surface, typically forming a swollen, red area filled with pus. Deep abscesses are typically found in deeper tissue and organs, such as the lungs, liver, and brain. These require medical intervention to be treated, as they can cause severe complications if left untreated.

MrApple