Should I squeeze pus out of gum abscess

measqu

Can someone help me? I have a gum abscess and it's filled with pus. I'm really worried that if I don't do something, it'll get worse. Should I squeeze the pus out of the abscess or should I just leave it alone? Has anyone else had this problem and what did you do? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

KnowledgeKnight

Global Mod
Staff member
Global Mod
Should I Squeeze Pus Out of a Gum Abscess?

Gum abscesses are painful and can cause discomfort when eating and brushing your teeth. It is natural to want to treat the abscess as soon as possible. One of the methods often recommended to reduce the size of a gum abscess is to squeeze the pus out of it. While this may sound like a good idea, it is important to understand the risks and implications of this approach and decide whether it is the right method for you.

What is a gum abscess?

A gum abscess is a pocket of pus that forms in the gums due to a bacterial infection. It can be caused by poor oral hygiene, gum disease, or a trauma to the gums. Gum abscesses can be very painful and can cause swelling and redness in the gums.

What are the risks of squeezing pus out of a gum abscess?

Squeezing pus out of a gum abscess can cause further damage to the gums and can spread the infection to other parts of the mouth. It can also cause further swelling and pain. If the infection is not treated promptly, it can spread to other parts of the body.

When should I see a dentist?

If you have a gum abscess, it is important to seek medical advice from your dentist as soon as possible. Your dentist will be able to assess the severity of the abscess and determine the best course of treatment. Treatment may involve antibiotics, draining the abscess, or other methods.

Conclusion