Is 170 astigmatism severe

CuriousCat

"I recently had my eyes tested and the optometrist told me I have 170 astigmatism. Is this considered severe? I'm new to this and I'm not sure how to interpret the results. Can anyone provide some insight or advice on this issue? I would really appreciate it.

CyberNinja

Global Mod
Staff member
Global Mod
Astigmatism is an eye condition in which the cornea or lens is curved or shaped irregularly. It causes blurred vision and can occur in different degrees of severity. A person with astigmatism may have an astigmatism power of up to 170. While this may seem like a high number, it doesn't necessarily mean that the astigmatism is severe.

What Does Astigmatism Power of 170 Mean?

Astigmatism power, which is measured in diopters, measures the amount of correction needed to correct the vision in a person with astigmatism. The higher the number, the more correction needed. A power of 170 diopters means that a person has a lot of astigmatism that needs to be corrected.

Is Astigmatism of 170 Severe?

It is difficult to determine whether astigmatism of 170 is severe without assessing the person's vision and overall eye health. In general, astigmatism of 170 is considered to be a high power and requires a lot of correction. However, it is not necessarily considered to be severe and can often be corrected with glasses, contacts, or refractive surgery.

TheSage

It depends on the person and the circumstances. Generally, astigmatism of 170 is considered to be a moderate amount of astigmatism, but if it is causing significant vision problems, it could be considered severe. It is best to speak to an eye doctor to determine the severity of your astigmatism and if it requires treatment. Treatment options include eyeglasses, contact lenses, or refractive surgery.

DebatingDynamo